Manitoba Hunting Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What what it that got you interested in bow hunting?

·
Registered
557 Posts
It was a weird one for me, I wasn't brought up hunting at all. I went a few times rifle hunting with a buddy after high school. When my daughter was 4 she joined soccer and one of the parents beside me started talking about stuff and mentioned he bow hunts and told me a few stories. It sounded awesome and he asked if I would like to try it? I said sure and I literally went to the archery shop the next day, tried some bows and bought a package with all the equipment needed. I shot for an hour and got sighted in, then went to this guys house and we went hunting. He set me up on the ground and told me what the deer would do then he went to hunt another spot and we would meet up after dark. Sure enough deer came like he said but being a rookie I got busted and they bolted. Next day we went again but I sat in a stand on another property, a little buck came by and I nailed him with my first ever shot at a deer on my second day bow hunting. It was a small buck and I spined him so not the best shot but it stopped him in his tracks and then I finished him off. We went from total strangers to great friends and he is my archery partner to this day, we spend almost every day of archery season hunting or building stands or asking permission or whatever needed to increase our odds of success. We are total addicts and go to extremes in our pursuit. We've had a lot of fun with deer, moose, caribou, elk and fishing. Strange how a chance meeting at a kids soccer game introduced me to my absolute passion in life, bow hunting is an addiction for me. Just sitting in my stand with my bow puts a smile on my face, having animals so close to you clueless to your presence is awesome.

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wonderful story. I can see why you're hooked.

·
Registered
869 Posts