Manitoba Hunting Forums banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just thought I would see what evrybody else out there is shooting...

I shoot a Bear Assault 70lb 28" draw... Easton Axis Arrows tipped with rage 100gr 2 blades, Tight spot quiver, Spot hog Zero travel release, Whisker Biscuit rest, AMP 5 pin sight, Doinker 6" stabilizer...

·
Registered
2,933 Posts
I started shooting a bow in 1971. It was a steel, take down longbow with a 90# draw. Then the following year my girlfriend gave me a Browning recurve with a 50# draw. It was a beautiful looking bow, but was very short, and difficult to draw because I have long arms. A few years later, I bought an Oneida Eagle that I set at 65#. That was a great bow...in spite of the fact that it was a very unforgiving bow...which actually was a good thing, because it forced me to develop perfect shooting form. I took many deer and a couple of black bear with it, but I also took several turkey at 100 yards with it. Ten years ago, I had to give up archery due to a torn rotator cuff. Now I'm thinking of turning to a cross bow.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Hoyt Maxxis 31 set at 64# Spot Hogg site Doinker stabilizer Easton FMJ 4oo arrows and a ultra rest drop away arrow rest.

·
Registered
2,420 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
How do you like the ultra rest??? Thinking about going to a fall away but there are so many to choose from... :?:

·
Registered
557 Posts
APA Mamba 6.5, APA rest, APA quiver, slick tricks, cabelas Stalker extreme arrows, Fletcher insider release. I have a Martin and Alpine as back up bows but will probably sell one or both this year.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Got serious last year and picked up a Hoyt Alphaburner 60# with a 29" draw. "Charlotte", smokes 'n' pokes!
Can confidently shoot targets at 60 yards, and am very comfortable at 30 yards for hunting purposes.