Manitoba Hunting Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
530 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i would like to start loading my own rifle cartridges 30-06 to start with what do i need and does anyone have any tips?

what bullet? (for White Tails )
what primers?
what brass ?
what powders?
what else do i need that i don't even know exists?

i have never tried it before and have no idea any pointers would be much appreciated

·
Premium Member
349 Posts
I would recommend searching Youtube for videos and beginner guides. It's better to get a visual of what the tools look like. There's a lot involved, and starting up can be pricey. And remember you're getting married, better check with the wife! :p :lol:

I have reloading equipment for a few calibers, but hardly reload anymore. I just don't have much time for it, plus the amount I shoot I might as well just buy factory. But I'm hanging onto it all and saving my brass so one day when I'm reloading more often I'll have plenty.

Cartridge components-
Bullet really depends on how much you want to spend.
Primer brand I don't think matters too much, I use Federal (215 I think) There's small rifle and large rifle.
Powder just depends on the bullet weight, and I'd start by talking to people and looking online to see what powders are giving people the best accuracy with the particular bullet you've chosen.
Brass you could buy a bag or reload the brass from factory rounds you've used, but either way I would try to keep all the same brand together. Winchester brass is good and I've heard it's thicker walled and longer lasting vs. Remington. I've also known Federal to be a good choice.

An electronic scale would be best, as well as an electronic caliper to measure cases and OAL, etc. A de-burring tool, powder trickler, Then the press, dies, and a thick sturdy bench to mount the press on. A reloading manual...