Manitoba Hunting Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new in Manitoba wilderness,pointing dog user always behind woodcock,red partridge and quail for a lot of years I would like to start hunting next fall and in the meantime hike forests and trails to find my prefered spots.
Best way to start,any advice to avoid problems?
I am thinking about taking first Hunting and PAL license and buying a shotgun,however until been able to get a pointing dog and train it I will have a time for being a walking shotgun hunter on his own.
I like hunting in motion so I think my first objetive should be grousse and partridge,but I have not experience with geese,ducks and hares is possible to hunt then with in motion or need to be lying in the ground waiting.

Thank you very much any advice is welcome.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Hey, I am in the same boat!! I will be getting my pal some time asap to start the process for next year. My puppy actually state side right now getting trained(GSP). I will be getting him back in the next couple weeks!
I have been scouting the pages to find the best place to hike him till next year but not many spots stick out yet!!
I would love to hear any advice for a newbie too!
Thanks
Zack

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you very much Chris I hadn´t any notice about that,I will be there and see what´s going on.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you very much.

At this stage I have been at sandilands and Mars sandhills.

Sandilands looks a good place for grousse and woodcock,don´t know if there are too many hares because I only saw one rabbit the last time I went.
I haven´t gone far away because after been hunting for around 35 years I know perfectly which can be the big problems in the forest and being lost happens really easy.