Manitoba Hunting Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering what 1 or 2 go to calls would be for people here, for rifle season since that is all I own so might as well start the conversation off that way.

I'm asking because I'm a fairly novice hunter, I've never done anything but walk around hoping to see a deer so I've never even used a call and don't know anything about them. But I was also surprised to see that there doesn't seem to be anything on this site about what deer calls are good or bad.

So feel free to enlighten me! And this could just be a general discussion page as well.

Thanks

·
Registered
530 Posts
i wouldn't go out in rifle season without a grunt tube and a pair of antlers. don't over call but you can rattle just about as much as you want. Don't just smash them together but interlock them and grind them together then separate and crash together again, then grind repeat this for a minuet or so then pause and sit very quiet for 5 to 10 minuets then try a soft grunt or two pause for 5 to 10 again then repeat the rattle. Once a buck comes over for a look don't make a sound. He already knows were the sound came from so don't let him pinpoint your exact position if he is making his way to you. If he looses interest and walks away grunt at him to remind him where hes going

·
Registered
2,420 Posts